poetry by Johnny Cash with «Hurt»

Hurt Lyrics
I hurt myself today
To see if I still feel
I focus on the pain
The only thing that’s real
The needle tears a hole
The old familiar sting
Try to kill it all away
But I remember everything

[Chorus:]
What have I become
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know goes away
In the end
And you could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

I wear this crown of thorns
Upon my liar’s chair
Full of broken thoughts
I cannot repair
Beneath the stains of time
The feelings disappear
You are someone else
I am still right here

[Chorus:]
What have I become
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know goes away
In the end
And you could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

If I could start again
A million miles away
I would keep myself
I would find a way

What does it mean?
Anonymous wrote: Seeing as the song was recorded well before his wife died, I don’t think that is the inspiration. The NIN version is much more directly about drugs (heroin to be specific). For Cash, the inflection is put more on the idea of mortality, getting old and, slowly, watching your friends die. The key line is ‘everyone I know…goes away…in the end’. The video has him on a throne, yes, but more importantly it ‘takes place’ in the Johnny Cash Museum, symbolizing a type of ‘storehouse of memory’. If you look closely much of the setting contains old pictures of him performing with Elvis, etc. So what is clear in the song, and more so in the video is the idea of a retrospective on your life, memory in the shadow of inevitable death. The acceptance of your life, and a bit of foreboding for the inevitable.

2 comments on “poetry by Johnny Cash with «Hurt»

Σχολιάστε

